For Every Girl Who Has Ever Felt This Way: A Poem

Now he lays me down to sleep;

I pray to God; my soul’s too weak. 

If I should die before I wake, 

I beg my life to be at stake. 

Now he sees me in my dreams;

He hunts them down, and preys on me. 

His flesh filled teeth between my thighs –

The pain becomes numbing –

He eats me alive. 

Now his body weighs on me;

In and out – I count to three. 

I close my eyes and hope for death,

Alas, I get nothing, for every breath. 

Now he’s laying next to me,

He’s out of breath, and I can’t speak. 

I turn over and hope he’s done,

But I know I’m not the only one. 

Now I’m lying on my floor,

He looks at me, then heads for the door. 

We say nothing – not even goodbye,

I know this was the ‘one last time’. 

Now my body isn’t mine,

He took it with him – I start to cry. 

A piece of myself is not inside,

Why do I always pick the wrong guys?


4 thoughts on “For Every Girl Who Has Ever Felt This Way: A Poem

Leave a Reply

