For Every Girl – Or Woman

On the very long and bumpy road to loving myself, I’ve come to find as I’ve gotten older that I simply shouldn’t give a flying fuck what other people think of me. And all though that is substantially true, myself, along with other people feel that we need other peoples’ approval of our own selves. But the more I think about it, the more ridiculous it seems. Like, why should I live my life to constantly please people who don’t matter to me? It’s my life. And being on the long continuous road to loving myself, I know that for guys, one of the sexiest things a girl can do is to be comfortable with herself and her body. Obviously I wouldn’t want this just for my boyfriend, but for myself. He seems to love to way I look naked. So why can’t I? I want to stop being ashamed to see myself naked or cover myself up around my boyfriend of whom I’ve been dating for over 2 1/2 years. That’s insane! Who does that?!?! Who covers themselves when walking around their room in front of the person they love?
Another thing I’ve realized. I’ve resented skinny bitches in the past, and I don’t have a right to. And all this talk of ‘real women have curves’ and ‘only dogs like bones’. I read that and I’m thinking, okay, even though I’m not skinny, if I was, I’d be upset about these sayings. One of my best friends is very athletic and is a dancer. She is self conscious of her body and wishes she had more curves. She thinks she sometimes looks too muscular or skinny. I think she has a super hot bod. And her boobs are amazing. And even though she’s skinny, it doesn’t mean she’s necessarily like that on purpose. Some girls are just like that. It’s not their fault. Why should I hate girls who are naturally like that? I have to admit I am bitter when girls are healthy and work out, because I know I should be doing that. But I’m sorry if I’d rather eat pizza while watching re-runs of my favorite tv shows. I guess my point is, well, I have many. But for one, every single woman is built differently. Some are skinny, curvy, thick or whatever you want to call it. If we could all learn to embrace each other for who we are and what our bodies are, then we’d have a different society. My perception of what skinny is and what fat is, is ridiculous. I call myself fat all the time. I don’t as much as I used to, because I’m trying that whole -love yourself- thing. But to a standard person, I wouldn’t be considered fat. Or skinny. Probably average.
Sorry, not sorry, but I’d just rather have pizza over celery or tofu bullshit. I love carbs. I hate that I love carbs, but I do. Ugh. Carbs – why must you be so bad but so effing good?
See, what we should do is try and eat at least a little better than we do now, not to be skinny but for our health. My only focus for eating healthy is to become a size 1 or 2. That’s not good. It should be my body that’s important to me, not how much I weigh.
These are the things that haunt me and I’m sure a lot of girls. It’s really hard loving yourself when all you see are flaws. But I’m trying to tell myself I’m beautiful everyday. Because… I am. And it’s time I start seeing it. And… My body is too. Because it’s mine. And there’s only one. Unless I decided to get plastic surgery but I’m not so… Yeah.
My goal is to let me love me a little more each day. And embrace my body and realize that it’s beautiful. It’s alive and breathing and well – so therefore it’s beautiful, it’s doing it’s job. Just like all of yours.

Leave a Reply

