No Liberal Arts Jobs?

So…on the Yahoo home page, it has ten of ‘the hottest’ jobs for the future. Some included registered nurse, electrician, painter, financial advisor and so on. Of course I checked to see if Novelist or something liberal was on the list, but of course it wasn’t. It was all technical. You know, the jobs that have no creativity intellectually. There was some software developer job or something, but that’s still technical considering it’s computer software. It’s really sad, actually. Pretty soon there won’t even be an option to be an English major or liberal arts major at all. To most people, English is the least important. Yes, you need to know how to speak, read and write, but no one cares about creativity anymore. I wish I was from the 60’s or 70’s. That’s when liberal arts was really popular, apparently. You could go to college specifically for what you wanted to do. I mean, how many people are going to school for nursing? TONS. Because you can never have too many nurses. Nurses are wanted everywhere. Being a writer? What good does that do for our society? To ignorant people, nothing. Writing is a skill you can be taught, but it also has to be a God given talent, in my opinion, anyway. Just like being a hair stylist. Anyone can go to beauty school and graduate, but what good is it if you’re not passionate about it? The older I get, the more cynical I become toward society, and towards whomever says that English and or liberal arts is not a skill worth obtaining and has no financial stability nor does it benefit the economy. It’s true; being a writer can mean sporadic income. That’s a downfall. However, If anyone is like me, then you know most of Hollywood is uncreative and 98% of movies are originated from or based off of books! When said book gets turned into a major motion picture and makes millions, how does that not benefit? Poetry is my forte, but unfortunately it’s a dead art. I want to bring it back to life, but I know that’s really hard. Which is why for my poetry, I want to find a dark illustrator. But I eventually want to be a creative novelist. In other words, write books. Books that people love and can relate to and enjoy reading. It’s hard to write a novel and even harder to write a successful one. But, someone’s gotta do it. Anyway, it just makes me sad that liberal arts seems to slowly be dying. My boyfriend wants to be a screen writer. I always said “I want to write the books, and he wants to turn them into movies” I’ve always told him that no matter what he wants to do with screenwriting, whether it be TV or movies, that he better add some creativity to Hollywood because it seems like for movies, there is none anymore. Independent ones, yes. But others, no.

Ugh. 

Leave a Reply

