Harsh Reality

I’m almost 20. By law, I’ve been an ‘adult’ for almost two years now. I don’t want to grow up. It’s scary and hard and… Let’s face it…I need my mommy still. I’m not ashamed to say it.
The harsh reality is…you need school, unfortunately. You need to work hard, just to get minimum wage. People question my sanity when I tell them I want to be a writer. First they look at me…blankly, and say ”Oh! Journalism!” And then I say ”…No, a novelist. I want to be a creative novelist”. Then they go, ”Oh. Well….that’s SO hard to do!”
I know it’s extremely difficult to become a successful, well-known writer. But….I Love writing. And I think I’m good at it. I’m self conscious of myself and don’t ever  give myself credit. But I believe I have a way with words and I can make people laugh. I believe I’m meant to be a writer. I’m still undecided about which genre to pursue, but I will pursue this goal. It’s not a dream, it’s a goal, because I know I’ll get there.
Reality sucks… But if we dwell on how much it sucks then I guess we miss out on the good parts.

Leave a Reply

