To Jill (Hop Hop)

Jill was and still is one of the most important people in my life. She was by far the best English teacher that I ever had. She saw something in me that no other teacher had before, and I will forever be grateful for that. It was my junior year of high school, and she was my British Literature teacher. I thought, oh great, British Literature…how much more boring could something get? I remember my friend and I at the time told each other that after we graduated high school we would become playmates. That didn’t work out because I’m not skinny enough to be a playmate, nor are my boobs fake enough. I was obsessed with the playboy bunny at the time and had a playboy bunny necklace. One day, Jill was passing out papers and she saw my necklace. She couldn’t believe that I was wearing it. I told her my plans to NOT go to college and become a playmate (of course this whole plan was a joke for the most part) and she was stunned. I also told her that I hated reading. I know, I know; I was like an English teacher’s worst nightmare. But never had a teacher praised my work and writing as much as she did. She really, truly believed in me. I’m in college and I love to read. I have her to thank for both. She’s such a beautiful person inside and out and I’m so lucky to have had her as my teacher. She’s the one who understood my style of writing and introduced me to different writers with the same kind of style. I miss her a lot and hope to see her soon. I admire her and her strong, positive attitude, something I could never have.
Love you!
And I will forever be your Bunny!

One thought on “To Jill (Hop Hop)

  1. What a very special teacher. They are few and far between. My creative writing teach my senior year was my inspiration. Ms. Pols.

Leave a Reply

